If you are injured on the job or have a disease resulting from your job then notify your employer immediately. You are required to provide a written description of your injury to your employer within 30 days. Notifying your employer within 30 days of the injury is required in order protect your right to receive compensation and treatment during the claim process even if you do not file a claim until later. You are allowed under New York law to file two years from the date of the injury/disability or two years from the time the disabled worker knew or should have known that their disease was due to the nature of the employment.
In New York your employer has 10 days to notify the state Workers’ Compensation Board of your injury or disease after they receive written notification from you. The Workers’ Compensation Board is in charge of managing your benefits and treatment during and after the claims process.